web analytics

Factory reset your Android device (what to be aware of)

Factory reset your Android device (what to be aware of)
 

If your phone acts like crazy you need first to check if there is a malware on it.

If your phone is too slow and it takes for ever to open an app, maybe it is overloaded with apps and the RAM memory is full. So you need to uninstall some apps.

If your phone is not normal, before going to the official service, you must factory reset the device.

It’s very easy, it’s not like Windows PCs, to factory reset your Android smartphone, you only have to go to the menu.

If you have no access to the menu, you can factory reset your device using the physical buttons of the device (how to do that here according to your phone).

In either way you will lose all data on your phone.

The data you will lose are:

Your Google account: so be sure to remember the password of your Gmail account

System and app data and settings: The settings of brightness and all other data will be deleted

Downloaded apps: All apps are deleted but remain on your account on Google Play. So you can download them again. But don’t reinstall all of them again. Choose which ones you really need.

Music: The music stored on your phone will be deleted. If the music is installed on your SD card, it will be saved. But to be sure, just remove the SD card before proceeding to factory settings

Photos: The same as music, if the photos are stored in your sd card, they will be saved. Some phones go back to factory settings without touching the photos. Some others delete them. To be sure, remove the SD card from your phone.

– Other user data: Data you stored on your phone that are not stored on your Google profile will be lost.

Difficulty: Very Easy
Android device used: Google Nexus 4
Android version: Android 4.2

Steps

1. After saving all the data you don’t want to lose, go to settings.

2. Select Backup & Reset

3. Select Factory data reset

4. Scroll down and press Reset Phone.

The phone will take about 5 to 20 minutes to be reseted. After that it will be ready to use.

The phone will as it was when first bought.

4 Comments

  1. David  /  April 17, 2013, 6:54 am

    are the SMS also lost?

  2. George  /  September 12, 2013, 4:55 pm

    will my phone number be removed form the phone (will have to activate phone number)?

    • Simon Koss  /  September 13, 2013, 5:27 am

      Hi George! Everything will be deleted (photos, apps, settings), your number will remain the same as long as you have the same sim card inside the phone.

Leave a Reply

Powered by Leader School. Created by Leader Online.